LEGISLATURE OF THE UNITED STATES VIRGIN ISLANDS



35th Legislature, THE HONORABLE SENATOR DIANE T. CAPEHART

3022 Estate Golden Rock Christiansted, Virgin Islands 00820 Email: senatorcapehart@legvi.org Phone: (340) 773-2424 ext. 2335 Chair Vice Chair Member Committee on Rules & Judiciary

Committee on Disaster Recovery & Infrastructure Committees on Health, Hospitals and Human Services Committee on Education and Workforce Development Committee on Economic Development & Agriculture Subcommittee on Health and Public Safety

REVISED

TO: All Members, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

Honorable Milton E. Potter, Vice Chairman

Honorable Angel L. Bolques, Jr. Honorable Kenneth L. Gittens Honorable Marise C. James Honorable Franklin D. Johnson Honorable Carla J. Joseph

FROM: The Honorable Senator Diane T. Capehart

Chair, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

DATE: March 13, 2024

RE: Committee on Rules and Judiciary Meeting—Wednesday, March 20, 2024

The Committee on Rules and Judiciary has scheduled a meeting for Wednesday, March 20, 2024, at 9:30 AM in the Frits Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room, St. Croix, Virgin Islands to consider the following nominations, bills, and resolutions:

BLOCK I

• Governor's Nomination of the Honorable Harold W. L. Willocks, Esq. Justice of the Supreme Court of the Virgin Islands

BLOCK II

 Governor's Nomination of Averil E. George Commissioner Nominee, Virgin Islands Department of Human Services

BLOCK III

Governor's Nomination of Antonio O. Stevens
 Director Nominee, Virgin Islands Fire and Emergency Medical Services

BLOCK IV

<u>Bill No. 35-0115</u> - An Act repealing title 24 Virgin Islands Code chapter 17, subchapter II, "Limited Use of Criminal Records in Hiring Practices," and enacting in its place "The Fair Chance for Employment Act" relative to criminal record checks in the employment application process; and amending title 3 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 25, subchapter I, section 452

requiring the Director of Personnel to develop and implement fair chance hiring policies; and for other related purposes. Sponsored By: Senators Donna A. Frett-Gregory, Alma Francis-Heyliger, Angel L. Bolques, Jr., Franklin D. Johnson, and Dwayne M. Degraff

<u>Bill No. 35-0196</u> - An Act to amend title 3, Virgin Islands Code, sections 717(c) and 766(c) to establish a deadline for the GERS to resume the personal loan program, remove the \$10,000,000 annual aggregate amount and the 8% interest rate cap, limit the system's liability to \$75,000, and set a parameter in section 717 that all loans must be structured such that the payoff date occurs before the retiree reaches age 70. **Sponsored By: Senator Milton E. Potter**

<u>Bill No. 35-0207</u> - An Act amending title 19 Virgin Islands Code, part I, adding chapter 6a to create the Territorial Chronic Kidney Disease and Diabetes Registry. *Sponsored By: Senator Ray Fonseca*

<u>Bill No. 35-0226</u> – An Act amending title 16 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 13, subchapter I, section 345, subsection (c) by establishing a minimum default amount for child support. Sponsored By: Senator Carla J. Joseph, Alma Francis Heyliger and Angel L. Bolques, Jr.

BLOCK V

<u>Bill No. 35-0107</u> - An Act posthumously honoring and commending Ms. Fenella Cooper for her contributions to the fields of education, sports, and culture, and naming the UVI tennis courts in her honor. *Sponsored By: Senator Marvin A. Blyden*

<u>Bill No. 35-0184</u> - An Act to honor and commend Viggo E. Sewer posthumously for his ultimate contribution to the Virgin Islands and renaming East End Road on Route 10 on the island of St. John, in his honor. *Sponsored By: Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff*

<u>Bill No. 35-0208</u> - A Resolution honoring and commending Mrs. Bernice Alma Turnbull for her lifetime of service and dedication to the people of the Virgin Islands. *Sponsored By: Senators Milton E. Potter, Carla Joseph, Alma Francis Heyliger, Kenneth L. Gittens and Dwayne M. DeGraff; Co-Sponsored By: Senators Samuel Carrion and Ray Fonseca*

<u>Bill No. 35-0223</u> - An Act renaming a portion of Gamle Gade "William A. Industrious Street". Sponsored By: Senator Carla J. Joseph, Ray Fonseca and Donna A. Frett-Gregory

Cc: All Senators
All Chiefs of Staff
All Divisions
Public Affairs
Media