# egislature of the state of the

# Legislature of the Virgin Islands

## Office of Senator Kenneth L. Gittens

Capitol Building, Charlotte Amalie, VI 00804 • 3022 Golden Rock, Christiansted, VI 00820

Kenneth L. Gittens Senate Majority Leader

### **COMMITTEES**

Homeland Security, Justice & Public Safety

Chairperson

Health, Hospitals & Human Services

Vice-Chair

Rules & Judiciary *Member* 

Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure & Planning Member

Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, & Consumer

Protection *Member* 

\*\*\*

Committee of the Whole *Member* 

**TO:** The Honorable Ray Fonseca

The Honorable Angel Bolques, Jr.
The Honorable Dwayne M. DeGraff
The Honorable Alma Francis-Heyliger
The Honorable Javan E. James, Sr.
The Honorable Franklin D. Johnson

**FROM:** Senator Kenneth L. Gittens

Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety

**DATED:** November 8, 2023

**RE: REVISED** COMMITTEE HEARING AGENDA

Scheduled Hearing - 10:00 a.m., Thursday, November 9, 2023

Please be advised that the 35<sup>th</sup> Legislature's Committee on Homeland Security, Justice, & Public Safety has scheduled a legislative committee hearing for 10:00 a.m., Thursday, November 9, 2023, in the Cleone H. Creque Legislative Conference Room on St. John. This is an in-person hearing.

The agenda is as follows:

BLOCK I – 10:00 a.m.

**Bill 35-0175** - An Act amending Title 23 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 11, relating to emergency communications during an emergency and major disasters by adding a subchapter II establishing an Auxiliary Communications Unit within the Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency Management Agency and providing an auxiliary communications resource to any department agency and autonomous or semi-autonomous instrumentality of the Government of the Virgin Islands. *Sponsored by Senator Kenneth L. Gittens*.

**Invited Testifiers:** 

**Testifier** Title **Department/Agency** St. Croix Amateur Radio Club Mr. Reynaldo Bess President American Radio Relay League Mr. Fred Kleber Manager Mr. Reynold St. Louis Retired 1SG Virgin Islands National Guard Ms. Celia Kalousek Voluntary Org Active in Disaster **Board Member** Mr. Steve Deblasio **Assistant Director VITEMA** 

Telephone: 340-773-2424 • Fax: 340-712-2378 • Email: senatorgittens@legvi.org

Comm on Homeland Security, Justice & Public Safety RE: Hearing Agenda – Thursday, November 9, 2023

**Bill 35-0086** - An Act amending Title 3, V.I.C., chapter 1, section 10h to require background checks for all IT personnel and employees of the Bureau of Information Technology, agencies that have data centers, and any employee who handles confidential information. *Sponsored by Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff.* 

### **Invited Testifiers:**

Testifier	Title	Department/Agency
Mr. Rupert Ross	Director	Bureau of Information Tech
Hon. Ray Martinez	Commissioner	V.I. Police Department
Mr. Steve Deblasio	<b>Assistant Director</b>	VITEMA
Mr. Carlton Dowe	<b>Executive Director</b>	V.I. Port Authority
Mr. Andrew Smith	CEO	Water and Power Authority
Ms. Regina Petersen	Administrator	V.I. Judiciary
Mrs. Kurell Sheridan	<b>Executive Director</b>	V.I. Legislature
Ms. Cindy Richardson	Director	Division of Personnel

**Bill 35-0131 -** relating to an Act amending Title 3 V.I.C., Ch. 15 to establish a "Real Crime Center, Centralized Crime Data System within the Virgin Islands Police Department". *Sponsored by Senator Diane Capehart*.

### **No Invited Testifiers**

# BLOCK II -2:00 p.m.

**Public Safety Update** - This update intends to provide an overview of public safety and security on the island of St. John. Officials and community members have been invited to provide testimony in order to facilitate a constructive and collaborative discussion in light of recent criminal activity reported in St. John.

### **Invited Testifiers:**

Testifier	Title	Department/Agency
Mr. Ray Martinez	Commissioner	V.I. Police Department
Ms. Sharon Coldren	Volunteer President	Coral Bay Community Council
Mr. Bob Malacarne	President	St. John Rescue
Ms. Myrtle Barry	Representative	Concerned People of the V.I.
Mr. Lawrence Ramdhansingh	President	V.I. Taxi Association

cc: All Senators
All Employees

Media