# Stature of the state of the sta

## Kenneth L. Gittens Senate Majority Leader

# Legislature of the Virgin Islands

### Office of Senator Kenneth L. Gittens

Capitol Building, Charlotte Amalie, VI 00804 • 3022 Golden Rock, Christiansted, VI 00820

**COMMITTEES** 

Homeland Security, Justice & Public Safety

Chairperson
\*\*\*

Health, Hospitals & Human Services

Vice-Chair
\*\*\*

Rules & Judiciary *Member*\*\*\*

Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure & Planning

Member \*\*\*

Government
Operations, Veterans
Affairs, & Consumer
Protection

Member \*\*\*

Committee of the Whole *Member* 

TO: Honorable Ray Fonseca, Vice-Chair

Honorable Angel Bolques, Jr. Honorable Dwayne M. DeGraff Honorable Alma Francis-Heyliger Honorable Javan E. James, Sr. Honorable Franklin D. Johnson

FROM: Senator Kenneth L. Gittens

Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety

**DATED:** March 4, 2024

**RE:** COMMITTEE HEARING AGENDA

Scheduled Hearing - 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, March 12, 2024

Please be advised that the 35<sup>th</sup> Legislature's Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety has scheduled a legislative committee hearing for 10:00 am, Tuesday, March 12, 2024 in the Earl B. Ottley Legislative Chambers on St. Thomas. This is an in-person hearing.

BLOCK I - 10:00 a.m.

**Bill 35-0115** – "An Act repealing title 24 Virgin Islands Code chapter 17, subchapter II, "Limited Use of Criminal Records in Hiring Practices," and enacting in its place "The Fair Chance for Employment Act" relative to criminal record checks in the employment application process; and amending title 3 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 25, subchapter I, section 452 requiring the Director of Personnel to develop and implement fair chance hiring policies; and for other related purposes." *Sponsored by Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory* 

**Invited Testifiers:** 

Testifiers	Title	Department/Agency
Honorable Gary Molloy	Commissioner	Department of Labor
Honorable Wynnie Testamark	Director	Bureau of Corrections
Honorable Cindy Richardson	Director	Division of Personnel
Akeel St. Jean	Chairman	St. Croix Chamber of Commerce
John P. Woods	President	STT/STJ Chamber of Commerce
Kendra Roach	President	VI Society for Human Resource Mgmt

Committee on Homeland Security, Justice & Public Safety RE: Hearing Agenda – Tuesday, March 12, 2024

### LUNCH - 12:30 p.m.

### BLOCK II - 1 p.m.

**Law Enforcement Officer Agency Update -** This update intends to provide information from agency enforcement divisions. The testimonies will include, yet not limited to, reports on agency recruitment efforts, certification and recertification procedures, enforcement strategies, execution of penalties, citation records, and current initiatives.

### **Invited Testifiers:**

Testifiers	Title	Department/Agency
Antonio Stevens	Acting Director	VIFEMS
Leon Battiste	Fire Marshal (STT/STJ)	VIFEMS
Kevin Delande	Fire Marshal (STX)	VIFEMS
Carlton Dowe	Executive Director	VI Port Authority
Edred Wilkes	Chief (STT)	VI Port Authority
Louis Flynn	Chief (STX)	VI Port Authority
Rodger Merritt	Executive Director	VI Waste Management Authority
Anderson Poleon	Director	VI Waste Management Authority
Raymond Williams	Executive Director	VI Lottery
Jakeema Richards	Director	VI Lottery

cc: All Senators
All Employees

Media