Download PDF

ST. THOMAS– On Tuesday, Members of the 32nd Legislature convened into Special Session called by Gov. Kenneth Mapp to consider several measures regarding FEMA Community Disaster Loans, the VI Source Separation Act and the Frederiksted Economic Revitalization Project.

Senate President Myron Jackson expressed his concerns on the exclusion of the Legislative Branch during this time despite their collaborative efforts in support of the Governor’s $7.5 billion request for federal aid.

After a brief caucus, Majority Leader Neville James motioned to hold Bill Nos. 32-0150, 32- 0151 and 32-0152 until the call of the Chair. The motion, objected by Sen. Alicia “Chucky” Hansen, passed with the following votes;

YES: Marvin Blyden, Jean Forde, Novelle Francis, Jr., Myron Jackson, Neville James, Janelle Sarauw & Brian Smith

NO: Dwayne DeGraff, Alicia “Chucky” Hansen, Janette Millin-Young

NOT VOTING: Positive T. A. Nelson

ABSENT: Nereida Rivera O’Reilly, Tregenza Roach, Sammuel Sanes, Kurt Vialet

Senate President Jackson announced that the Committee of the Whole will reconvene on Wednesday, November 29, 2017 and Legislative Session will be held on Thursday, November 30, 2017.