Committee on Homeland Security, Justice, Public Safety and Veterans’ Affairs

Steven D. Payne, Sr.


Oakland Benta

Vice Chair

Dwayne M. DeGraff

Kenneth L. Gittens

Stedmann Hodge, Jr.

Novelle E. Francis, Jr.

Donna A. Frett-Gregory

The jurisdiction of the Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and

Public Safety encompasses, and the Committee shall:

(1) receive, consider, and make recommendations on all bills relating to the Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency Management Agency (VITEMA), the Virgin Islands Air National Guard, the Virgin Islands Fire Services, the Virgin Islands Police Department, the Bureau of Corrections, Department of Justice, Emergency Medical Services,, the Virgin Islands Parole Board, the Criminal Victims Compensation Commission, the Virgin Islands Witness

Protection Board, and all other agencies, board and Commissions that provide related services ;

(2) consider all matters pertaining to all law enforcement related departments, agencies and divisions, involved in public safety, civil defense, fire protection, first responders, crime, penal and correctional institutions and statutes of a penal nature unless closely related to a subject delegated to another committee;

(3) receive, consider and coordinate policy recommendations and bills concerning homeland security, statutes on counter-terrorism, national and territorial defense and any other emerging external threats that relate to the United States security and Virgin Islands territorial security; and

(4) receive, consider and make recommendations on bills relating to any other board, commission or agency whose operation or nature of business is relevant to the operation of the Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety.

Once you’ve clicked on a link and you need to Navigate Back or forward, Please use the “ALT+Left or Right Key”

District of St. Thomas-St. John / St. Croix

Legislature of the Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, Charlotte Amalie

P.O. Box 1690

St. Thomas United States Virgin Islands, 00804


Legislature of the Virgin Islands

St. Croix United States Virgin Islands, 00840