# E States Views

# Legislature of the Virgin Islands

# Office of Senator Kenneth L. Gittens

Capitol Building, Charlotte Amalie, VI 00804 • 3022 Golden Rock, Christiansted, VI 00820

Kenneth L. Gittens Senate Majority Leader

### **COMMITTEES**

Homeland Security, Justice & Public Safety

Chairperson
\*\*\*

Health, Hospitals & Human Services *Vice-Chair* 

Rules & Judiciary

Member

\*\*\*

Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure & Planning Member

Government
Operations, Veterans
Affairs, & Consumer
Protection
Member

Committee of the Whole *Member* 

TO: Honorable Ray Fonseca, Vice-Chair

Honorable Angel Bolques, Jr. Honorable Dwayne M. DeGraff Honorable Alma Francis-Heyliger Honorable Javan E. James, Sr. Honorable Franklin D. Johnson

**FROM:** Senator Kenneth L. Gittens

Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety

**DATED:** April 4, 2024

**RE:** REVISED COMMITTEE HEARING AGENDA

Scheduled Hearing - 10:00 a.m., Thursday, April 4, 2024

Please be advised that the 35<sup>th</sup> Legislature's Committee on Homeland Security, Justice, & Public Safety has scheduled a legislative committee hearing for 10:00 am, Thursday, April 4, 2024, in the Earl B. Ottley Legislative Chambers on St. Thomas.

The agenda is as follows:

BLOCK I – 10:00 a.m.

**St. Thomas Carnival Safety/Security Update** - This update intends to provide an overview of safety and security efforts ahead of this year's St. Thomas Carnival events. Information provided will relate to safety and security, parking restrictions and accommodations, environmental clean-ups, permitting requirements, curbside pickup, trash removal, trash containerization and other related matters.

## **Invited Testifiers:**

Honorable Ray Martinez Commissioner Virgin Islands Police Department Honorable Derek Gabriel Commissioner V.I. Department of Public Works Honorable Joseph Boschulte Commissioner V.I. Department of Tourism Honorable H. Natalie Hodge Commissioner V.I. Department of Health Dept of Licensing and Consumer Affairs Honorable Justa Encarnacion Commissioner Roger E. Merritt, Jr. Executive Director V.I. Waste Management Authority

cc: All Senators

Media

Telephone: 340-773-2424 • Fax: 340-712-2378 • Email: senatorgittens@legvi.org