33rd Legislature’s Majority Caucus finalized; press conference scheduled for Thursday at 2 p.m.

Download PDF

ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS – After a day-long Committee of the Whole hearing regarding matters concerning our Territory’s hospitals, Majority Leader, Senator Marvin A. Blyden special ordered a measure to the Floor that finalized the reorganization of the 33rd Legislature’s Majority Caucus. The resolution was voted on favorably with nine senators in support of the measure and will be sent to Governor Albert Bryan, Jr. for his acknowledgment.

This resolution, Bill No.33-0089, solidified the election of officers, amended and reestablished standing committees, and elected chairs, vice-chairs and members of the standing committees. 

“I am happy that we have been able to work collaboratively and truly finalize the makeup of the 33rd Legislature,” said Majority Leader Blyden. “Today’s bill was basically a housekeeping measure to firm up the committee chairs and members, and to formally amend our rules to reflect the changes in the committee structure. We will continue to move forward in the best interest of the people of the Territory.” 

The Majority Caucus will now include Senators Alicia V. Barnes, Marvin A. Blyden, Allison L. DeGazon, Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Myron D. Jackson, Javan E. James, Sr., Steven D. Payne, Sr., Janelle K. Sarauw, and Kurt A. Vialet. 

Veteran Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr. has been chosen to sit at the helm of the 33rd Legislature as President with the most senior senator, Senator Myron D. Jackson, selected as Vice-President. Senators Alicia V. Barnes and Marvin A. Blyden will continue to serve as the Body’s Secretary and Majority Leader, respectively.   

The Majority Caucus will host a news conference at 2 p.m. on Thursday, June 6 in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Chambers on St. Thomas to provide information to the public regarding the reorganization.

The officers of the 33rd Legislature are as follows:

Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr. is elected President. 

Senator Myron D. Jackson is elected Vice-President. 

Senator Alicia V. Barnes is elected Secretary. 

Senator Marvin A. Blyden is elected Majority Leader. 

Senator Myron D. Jackson is elected Secretary for Intergovernmental and Territorial Affairs. 

Senator Allison L. DeGazon is elected Liaison to the United States Congress. 

Senator Alicia V. Barnes is elected Liaison to the United States Department of Interior, Office of Insular Affairs. 

Senator Janelle K. Sarauw is elected Liaison to the White House. 

The 33rd Legislature’s standing committee chairs are as follows: 

Committee on Rules and Judiciary 

Chair: Senator Janelle K. Sarauw 

Vice-Chair: Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr. 

Committee on Finance 

Chair: Senator Kurt A. Vialet 

Vice Chair: Senator Marvin A. Blyden 

Committee on Government Operations, Consumer Affairs, Energy, Environment, and Planning 

Chair: Senator Alicia V. Barnes 

Vice-Chair: Senator Myron D. Jackson 

Committee on Education and Workforce Development  

Chair: Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory 

Vice-Chair: Senator Kurt A. Vialet 

Committee on Health, Hospitals and Human Services 

Chair: Senator Oakland Benta 

Vice Chair: Senator Janelle K. Sarauw 

Committee on Youth, Sports, Parks and Recreation 

Chair: Senator Javan E. James, Sr. 

Vice-Chair: Senator Steven D. Payne, Sr.  

Committee on Economic Development, Regulations and Agriculture 

Chair: Senator Allison L. DeGazon  

Vice Chair: Senator Athneil “Bobby” Thomas  

Committee on Homeland Security, Justice, Public Safety, and Veterans’ Affairs 

Chair: Senator Steven D. Payne, Sr. 

Vice-Chair: Senator Oakland Benta 

Committee on Housing, Transportation, Infrastructure and Telecommunications 

Chair: Senator Marvin A. Blyden 

Vice-Chair: Senator Alicia V. Barnes 

Committee on Culture, Historic Preservation, and Aging 

Chair: Senator Myron D. Jackson 

Vice-Chair: Senator Javan E. James, Sr. 

Committee of the Whole 

Consists of ALL Members of the 33rd Legislature  fffff