Download PDF

ST. THOMAS – The Legislature in collaboration with the Judicial Branch administered a formal Oath of Office for Senator-Elect Janelle Sarauw as she was sworn in during a ceremony held at the Capitol Building on Friday.

The event was held as a result of the actions taken by the St. Thomas-St. John District Board of Elections on Monday, July 10, 2017 to certify the April 8, 2017 Special Election, in which Senator-Elect Sarauw was declared an official winner after receiving the highest votes totaling 1,292.

“Part of my duties as president is to ensure that the Oath of Office is administered. All duties relating to the certification of the Special Election have been completed. We are here today to seat Janelle Sarauw to serve as the 15th Senator of the 32nd Legislature,” said Senate President Myron Jackson.

Senator Sarauw also shared her remarks.

“I would like to thank God. We have come this far by faith. I would also like to thank my family, friends and supporters. For me, standing in this well was a very difficult journey. Everything about me was tested. This conflict has torn apart residents in the community, families, political parties and friends. However, it is now time to heal. We must achieve political maturity. We must move forward,” said Sen. Sarauw.

Additional aspects of the Oath of Office Ceremony included an invocation and benediction delivered by Pastor Jason Jordan of the Love of Christ Fellowship Church; the National Anthem and Virgin Islands March sung by Lorna Freeman; the Certification Notification read by Deputy Supervisor of Elections Kevermay Douglas; the Certification read by Senator Jean Forde; and the Administration of the Oath of Office performed by Chief Justice Rhys Hodge of the Supreme Court of the Virgin Islands.